#1 Fire Extinguisher, Fire Sprinkler and Fire Protection Service Company of Southern California.

red fire truck logo
Call us first!
red fire truck logo
Call us first!

Classes of Fires

fireThere are four classes of fires. All fire extinguishers are labeled, using standard symbols, for the classes of fires on which they can be used.
A red slash through any of the symbols tells you the extinguisher cannot be used on that class of fire. A missing symbol tells you only that the extinguisher has not been tested for a given class of fire, but may be used if an extinguisher labeled for that class of fire is not available. The Four Classes of Fire are:

  1. CLASS A – Ordinary combustibles such as wood, cloth, and paper.
  2. CLASS B – Flammable liquids such as gasoline, oil, and oil-based paint.
  3. CLASS C – Energized electrical equipment, including wiring, fuse boxes, circuit breakers, machinery and appliances.
  4. CLASS D – Combustible metals such as magnesium or sodium.


Find answers for all your queries of fire extinguisher servicefire extinguisher training classes and smoke vent skylights related questions at San Diego fire extinguisher service.

Contact Us